Steven Gerrard & David Beckham inducted into Premier League Hall of Fame

David Beckham and Steven Gerrard are the latest former players to be added to the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Steven Gerrard & David Beckham inducted into Premier League Hall of Fame

Six Premier League titles were among the 10 trophies, including a European and domestic treble, that Beckham, 46, won with Manchester United.

He became the eighth name added to the list, with Liverpool great Gerrard inducted earlier on Thursday.

Gerrard, 40, featured 710 times for the Reds, winning nine major trophies, including the Champions League.

The former midfielder is the first inductee not to have won a Premier League title, and the only Liverpool player to be included on the list.

Steven Gerrard & David Beckham inducted into Premier League Hall of Fame

Beckham is the third Manchester United player inducted this week, joining former team-mates Roy Keane and Eric Cantona.

Frank Lampard, Dennis Bergkamp, Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry are also Hall of Fame players.

Unlike the other inductees, Gerrard may not have picked up a Premier League winners medal, but he made a huge impression on the competition and collected some of the biggest domestic and European honours during his 17-year playing career at Anfield.

He was made Liverpool captain in 2003, and led the side to Champions League success in 2005, scoring the Reds’ first goal as they recovered from 3-0 down at half-time to beat AC Milan on penalties in the Istanbul final.

European club football’s biggest prize was the highlight of a career in which he collected two FA Cups, three League Cups, a Community Shield, a Uefa Cup and a Uefa Super Cup with his boyhood club.

After a short spell playing in the United States with LA Galaxy, Gerrard moved into management, taking charge of Scottish Premiership side Rangers in May 2018.

This season he guided them to their first title in a decade, finishing 25 points clear at the summit after an unbeaten league campaign.

Gerrard’s inclusion in the Hall of Fame was quickly followed by the announcement of his former England team-mate Beckham’s selection.

In a glamorous career that started under Sir Alex Ferguson at Old Trafford, Beckham went on to play for Real Madrid, LA Galaxy and AC Milan before ending his career with Paris St-Germain in 2013.

Beckham not only established himself as one of the word’s most high-profile sports people during his playing days, he also became the only English player to win championships in four countries.

While he won a La Liga title and Spanish Cup with Real, a French title with PSG and enjoyed success with the Galaxy in the US, the most trophy-laden period of his career was with United.

He was part of their treble winning side of 1999, in which they won the Champions League, FA Cup and Premier League title.

Beckham and Gerrard were the last two of six six inductees being announced this week.

They have been selected from a 23-man shortlist based on the most combined votes from the public and a Premier League panel.

Full 23-man shortlist

Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Eric Cantona, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Viera, Ian Wright.

Source: BBC

More news:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x